March 27, 2006

At last, a post about knitting

Posted in Knitting at 9:07 pm by mamalu

This was supposed to be a blog with a lot of knitting content, but there hasn’t been much to report lately. I’m making my daughter a pair of wrist-warmers from Heartstring’s Filigree Lace pattern. I cast on for the larger size for the lace part and did six repeats instead of three, so she can wear them on days when it’s not cold enough to bother with mitts and pull them down if her hands get cold. The lace is finished for both of them, I’ve decreased down to the smaller size, and now I’m slogging through the ribbing on the first one. I hate ribbing and I hate twisted ribbing even more, and I dropped a bunch of stitches on Saturday when I was watching a video (Walk the Line, I liked it), so they’re not going well. I won’t bother to photograph them, because they’re in a mottled dark purple, the colour of a grape popsicle, that won’t show up the rather lovely lace.

The other knitting in active rotation is the Cobweb Crepe Shawl from Heirloom Knitting. I want to finish the centre garter stitch square (knit diagonally) and pick up the stitches around the circumference before we leave on vacation. That way, I won’t be counting rows on the plane (a woman talking aloud to herself while holding fine knitting needles might make the other passengers nervous). Although I expect I’ll sleep a bit, the flight is 15 hours and I’ll have a variety of books on my iPod, so I’m hoping to make good progress. In the meantime, though, it’s just a garter stitch triangle, and I’m trying to resist the temptation to rush through it. I’d almost reached the end of the increasing rows, but there were some badly formed stitches that didn’t want to be coaxed back into shape, so I ripped back to start again. I know it’s hard to make garter perfect and it’s called a “crepe” shawl for a reason, but I wanted to see if I could do better if I slowed down. I can.

Leave a Reply

