April 2, 2006

Knitting to go

Posted in Knitting, Travelling at 8:44 pm by mamalu

We leave on Tuesday, so I’ve been trying to work through my to do list this weekend. Unfortunately, I’m at that point of (late) middle age when I start to do something, in the process see something else that needs doing, do that for a bit, and then forget what I was doing in the first place. However, things are looking good. I’m finishing up the laundry, I have two pairs of pants to hem (I seem to buy clothes only when we’re about to go somewhere), and I have to clean out the fridge.

Knitting to goThe most important thing is done. This is the knitting that will sustain me over the next three weeks: the Cobweb Crepe Shawl and a pair of Jaywalker socks in Opal. There’s a second ball of Merino lace that isn’t in the picture, and I just tore the house apart looking for it. It turned up in its own little ziplock in my carry-on. My first idea was to take only the shawl, but I’m not sure how Chinese security view metal knitting needles, so I’m going to work on the socks, on bamboo needles, during the flight from Beijing to Hong Kong. For the flight home, I might put a lifeline in the shawl and bring both. Then, if they don’t like the metal circular, I can abandon the needle and work on the socks.

I’m particularly happy about the little cosmetic case on the right. It’s the perfect size for a ball of sock yarn or a shawl in progress, and it fits in my purse.

Leave a Reply

