May 2, 2006

Coat trailing

Posted in Knitting, Travelling at 3:00 pm by mamalu

I’m Back
Three weeks of vacation and one week of crazy busy at work and I’m back on the blog. Crazy busy continues in fits and starts. Right now it’s hurry up and wait, and I’m not inclined to start work on anything because I suspect it may be a long day—if not today, then tomorrow.

Beijing and Hong Kong were amazing—particularly Beijing (I find that Hong Kong has lots of spirit, but very little heart and soul). This in large part was due to our Beijing guide, my husband’s nephew James, an exceptional young man. He claims his Mandarin is rusty; but he more than made up for it with charm. I don’t think that anyone we met went away from the encounter without a smile on their face. As for details of the trip, I think I’ll leave that up to my husband. I’ll link to his trip report when he gets it done.

The Coat Trailing
I was interested to read that Franklin had tried to join the KnitList and had been rejected without explanation. I wandered over and reaffirmed that it is quite amazingly dull, so, confident that I had nothing to lose, I posted the following:

I was surprised to read on The Panopticon, one of my favourite blogs,
that Franklin had tried three times to join the KnitList and had been
rejected each time without explanation.

What are the criteria for membership of this list? The description of
the list is “a non-commercial, worldwide forum to share knitting
information in an environment of dignity and respect.” Since Franklin
is one of the most dignified and respectful people I have ever
encountered in the knitting world, I find it curious that he would not
be allowed to join. Moreover, I think it is very disrepectful that no
reason be given.

I do hope that I get kicked off as a result. I’ve never been kicked off anything. At any rate, I’ll be interested to see if I get any replies.*

I may join KnitTalk. TechKnit, although interesting, is a little intimidating, and at some point I’d like some pattern sources for a comfy cardi for Kate. Then again, I may try to wing it. The requirements are that it be slouchy without being sloppy, have set-in or raglan sleeves, perhaps a tie belt (in which case I’d make it flare so it doesn’t bunch) and perhaps a shawl collar. It should be in wool, so it doesn’t grow, but be soft and not scratchy, and probably in a DK weight so it’s fine but not impossibly so. Ah well, perhaps when I have some spare cash, I’ll get some knit design software. On the other hand, graph paper is free.

* Ahhhhh. the first came very quickly—an admonition that I e-mail the List Moms because “.They are in charge.” The second just said that she loves Franklin’s blog and his voice.

2 Comments »

  1. Lee said,

    Oh yay! I’m so glad you’re back. I very much enjoyed your first posts.

  2. Tous ces mots peuvent u00eatre aussi sur ma liste mais en ce moment je me soigne… Faut dire que j’ai la chance d’avoir une super motivation!!! Click https://twitter.com/moooker1


Leave a Reply

